Sensitive Post – My DE-IVF Journey – 1

I had to use the words ‘sensitive post’ or ‘trigger warning’ in the title. I am absolutely fine with you not reading the post and skipping it already because I know what exactly those words mean and I have experienced the sadness it leaves behind.

I do not expect you replying that you are happy for me as I understand how hard it is to even confess it that you are not and that you are jealous or hurt. I totally agree.

I am sharing my DE-IVF journey for the ones whose infertility struggle is similar to mine, to be hopeful and to spread awareness about IVF, DE-IVF. I want to tell you that “It’s okay if you have to walk on the path of IVF and climbing the several steps it has (minus its huge cost, of course!).” It is okay to talk about IVF openly and not be embarrassed about it, especially if there is anyone reading from India. I would love to connect with fellow TTC sisters from India. Till date, I have connected with only Sprha.

Let me confess something before I begin with sharing my new journey. It wasn’t easy to write this post, not because of writer’s block but call it fear, anxiety or a bit of guilt. It was easy to write and share about my infertility journey but talking about my DE-IVF isn’t. This is the first time I have ever mentioned about “DE-IVF” (Donor Egg – IVF).

What is IVF?

IVF = the process of fertilization by extracting eggs, retrieving a sperm sample, and then manually combining an egg and sperm in a laboratory dish. The embryo(s) is then transferred to the uterus.

Source: https://americanpregnancy.org/infertility/in-vitro-fertilization/

What is DE-IVF?

Egg donation is a process in which a fertile woman donates an egg, or oocyte, to another woman to help her conceive. It is a part of assisted reproductive technology, or ART.

The procedure typically involves a doctor removing an egg or eggs from the donor, fertilizing them in a laboratory, and then transferring the resulting embryos into the recipient’s uterus. Doctors do this using an implantation procedure, such as in vitro fertilization (IVF).

(Source: https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/314750.php )

Why did I need to use donor eggs?

I have a “severely diminished ovarian reserve” or known as “Primary Ovarian Failure”. I have talked about my diagnosis in few of my previous post. If you would like to read them, following are the links.

https://lifewithfewgoodeggs.wordpress.com/2017/03/02/i-will-never-have-a-child-infertility/

https://lifewithfewgoodeggs.wordpress.com/2017/04/17/my-premature-ovarian-failure-story/

Am I ashamed or embarrassed to confess about using donor egg?

No! I am thankful and grateful for the woman who donated her eggs and my doctors for without them I wouldn’t be experiencing the presence of life inside my womb.

I shall talk about donor egg, my thoughts, the difficulties lying ahead, sharing the use of donor egg to others, etc. in a separate post dedicated to it.

Continuing with DE-IVF Journey

As of today I am 31+2 weeks!

I realized even after the BFP the ‘infertility’ fact did not leave me. It’s dark shadow still lingers with me. Oh the fear and anxiety it gifts me everyday! I just couldn’t say, “I’m pregnant” to any of my best friends or you, my fellow TTC sisters.

The first trimester gave me jitters each day because the only way to confirm being pregnant were the two pink lines. But even the two pink lines doesn’t assure that there is a “heart beat” in the gestational sac (because of my experience with first IVF cycle, I had those 2 beautiful pink lines but the sonography revealed the empty sac with no heart beat). It was a long wait even after TWW for the sonography which was scheduled at 8 weeks. But something scary occurred which I will talk about in upcoming posts.

The rising BETA HCG levels did give relief but I was impatiently waiting to hear the heart sounds!

That’s it for this post. There’s lot to share – something good, something scary, genetic markers, anatomy scan, coping with gestational diabetes and much more.

If anyone wants to share, ask or talk about infertility or ivf or donor egg, I would love to answer your queries. Leave me a message from the form below if you do not want to reply under this post or Stay in touch on Instagram.

8 thoughts on “Sensitive Post – My DE-IVF Journey – 1

  1. I AM happy for you! My third round of DE IVF was a success too, and I had very similar feelings. The infertility never goes away but the intensity of the feeling associated with it does diminish. Wishing you a quick labor and a healthy babe! Much love. ❤️

    P.S. If hoping to breastfeed make sure you ask for medicated nipple ointment if you have nipple pain- it saved my breastfeeding journey! – I was completely blindsided at how awful breastfeeding can start out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much *hugs*. Hope you and your lovely family are doing good. Waiting to read your journey from your blog. Do you have an instagram account? Let’s connect!

      Thanks again for the tip. Love.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorry I don’t have Instagram. I stopped blogging after my initial positive pregnancy result. My baby girl is almost a year old now. We are going to try another FET -DE from the same donor in April and I may start to blog again. Not sure. 🤷‍♀️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment