Getting ready for IVF – Mind, Body & Soul

When all the tips in ‘how to get pregnant fast’ fails; it is time for booking appointments and SEVERAL visits to hospital. I should have kept the exact record and the number of pills that I have swallowed till date. (It would have been a record in itself, sigh!)

Please do not consider following routine as “guidelines” for yourself. They are strictly for me as advised by my RE. I have included only the medication part and not the ‘relaxation, stress free, yoga, acupuncture, eat healthy’ tips found all over the internet. Because if that was the case, I would have popped out a baby long back.

ivf tips | ivf treatment | ivf preparation
Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

Short recap of my fertility status

Age: 30 (almost nearing 31)

Diagnosis: Premature Ovarian Failure (POF) confirmed after test results of AMH (Anti Mullerian Hormone) as 0.19 (Normal is 1.0 to 1.5 ng/ml) 

Menstrual cycle: I do not get my menses naturally since age of 27. The first sign of my early menopause began when I was 25. (Yup! I noticed a surprised reaction from my RE too)

Believe me; I have seen females as young as 18 and 21 with POF in my medical professional career.

Preparing My Body For IVF

Emotional preparation

So before taking that first appointment with RE in Jan 2018 because I knew I am ‘the patient’ for IVF and what all comes with it (Side-effects of being a doctor) it took me a year, yes, one whole year to prepare myself emotionally.

I had been through physical discomfort of all the invasive and diagnostic procedures since 2013. Emotional drain is far more than going through the physical procedures.

The biggest fact to sink in is to prepare my mind for IVF failure. This sounds absurd but I cannot run away from it. The truth is that only 4 out of 10 women who undergo IVF cycle find success. And who doesn’t want to be in the 4!

Get Strong My Endometrium

I am on the stage where I have to depend on hormonal tablets to get my menses which is known as withdrawal bleeding and not an ‘actual period’.

I am taking 2 tablets of Ev Tab 2 mg thrice in a day (THAT’S 12 mg PER DAY!). It is an estradiol (female sex hormone) tablet which is prescribed because my ovaries cannot produce it. I have no problem taking it, why would I because it is prescribed for endometrium thicknening to increase the chances of implantation.

But oh, the side-effects that I am experiencing! Be ready for TMI (Too Much Information)!

My breasts have enlarged and I feel suffocated in my medium size dresses. Do I have to build up a new wardrobe now? Already thousands are been spent on monthly medications.

They have become so sore and the pain on pressure makes me wince! How do I make my husband understand? (Ouch!)

I have gained 2 kg since Jan (not because of happiness, I’m sure).

Training My Uterus To Bleed Monthly

Duphaston 10 mg, progesterone to bring on menstruation by replacing the natural progesterone after last dose of Ev Tab.

Tablet, Tablets and More Tablets

Care 9 contains L-methyl folate , Pyridoxal 5 Phosphate and Methylcobalamin, all active form of vitamins to prevent Neural Tube Defects (NTDs), pregnancy related anaemia and associated pregnancy complications.

Warifert-F which contains all the good stuff. (Read the ‘fert’ in the tablets name, obviously)

Ecosprin once daily which was prescribed after 3 months. It is advised to patients going for IVF.

Vitamin D3 solution 60000 IU once a week for my way too low Vitamin D levels.

I am sure many of you might be wondering about, “aren’t you taking any stims?” No poking for me ladies, not yet. There is a reason for it and at this point I am not comfortable in sharing the same.

Acceptance 

These 4 years of coming face to face with fertility made me realize that unless I accept my condition, no yoga, meditation or any relaxation technique can calm my soul. It is what it is. I am not angry on “God”. I never question, “Why me?” though others around do say, “Why you?” but I have learned to let it go.

So This Is It. All about me getting ready for IVF (in vitro fertilization). Do share some of your Tips to prepare for IVF.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Getting ready for IVF – Mind, Body & Soul

Leave a comment