#12 Day in Our Life: It’s My Birthday – Wiser 30’s | Sick Toddler | Home is Where the Heart is

7 June 2021

It was my second birthday with Baby V. Waking up every day to see him is a blessing. I didn’t even realize how quickly the first half of 2021 has gone by and it was my 34th birthday.

H got me a rose and here is Baby V with it. It was kind of a no cooking day as H ordered for us and I had to cook for Baby V.

indian mommy bloggers

Compare my 33th birthday with 34th. Aren’t I a dull and tired looking mom of a toddler? Yet Happy, all that matters!

indian mom bloggers

Are you among the ones who love to celebrate birthdays or the ones who do not like them as they remind me of getting older?

I belong to the first one. I know I am getting older but I am not saying in the context of “celebrating” a birthday with a cake, balloons, or get-together with friends. The 20’s were stepping out of college and into the real world. Achievements, failure, disappointments. Not that they aren’t present in 30’s but I didn’t know how to accept them.

We get older yet wiser. Correct me if I am wrong?

Wiser 30’s – What Have I Learned in My 30’s

  • Getting old isn’t bad
  • Health is everything. Make it a priority
  • Always be grateful
  • There is time for everything. EVERYTHING.
  • Stop caring about what others think
  • Don’t be a people pleaser
  • Some people will always be ungrateful for your efforts
  • Accept failure
  • Gratitude is the way of expressing how much you love your life
  • Life is short (cliche but can’t put blinds over it)

Sick Toddler

Baby V’s appetite was less since the past few days and he was restless (more than the usual days) on my birthday. When I put him to sleep in the night I knew something wasn’t well with him. He woke up several times during the night due to a blocked nose. I gave him homeopathic medicine and he slept but past 2 am he had a spiking fever. I carried him around so that he could sleep. He slept well for about 3 hours. 

By 7 am his body was burning hot and he was crying. Though being a doctor I can’t think straight when he is sick. I knew I couldn’t take care of him alone and so rushed to my Mom’s home. 

His fever came down in the evening and he had no fever throughout the night. 

A happy, restless, mischievous Baby V was back!

Home is where the Heart is

Talking about visiting mom’s home, I miss this place a lot. Though it isn’t the home where I grew up but it’s the home where my Baby V grew as an infant, from a tiny baby to an infant. 

I stay away from attachments but I cannot get rid of this. Somehow this place has my heart and soul. I always miss this home, looking around makes me nostalgic. Stepping out of this home to go back to mine is like putting a stone on my heart. When I return to my home, there is always an emptiness within me which just doesn’t get filled. Words will fall short to express my feelings here. 

Do you have such a place in your life?

Thank you for reading.

One thought on “#12 Day in Our Life: It’s My Birthday – Wiser 30’s | Sick Toddler | Home is Where the Heart is

Leave a comment